Government Constitutes Sub-Committee on Excise; Registration Deadline Extended to July 1

Apr 23, 2016

The Ministry of Finance, Government of India today formally announced the constitution of the Sub-Committee of the High Level Committee to look into issues related to the Imposition of Central Excise duty on jewellery. It simultaneously also deferred the date for completion of registration of jewellers with the Central Excise department till July 1, 2016.


The circular from the ministry announced that the following will be members of the committee:

(i)  Dr. Ashok Lahiri, Chairman
(ii)  Shri Gautam Ray, Member
(iii) Shri Rohan Shah, Legal expert [Managing Partner, Economic Laws Practice].
(iv) Shri Manoj Kumar Dwivedi, Joint Secretary [Department of Commerce].
(v)  Shri Alok Shukla, Joint Secretary [Tax Research Unit, Central Board of Excise and Customs, Department of Revenue].

It added that the names of the trade representatives in the Sub-Committee would be decided in consultation of with Dr. Ashok Lahiri, Chairman of the Sub-Committee.


The government reiterated that the terms of reference of the Sub-Committee will include issues related to compliance procedure for the excise duty, including records to be maintained, operating procedures and any other issues that may be relevant. All associations will be given an opportunity to submit representation before the Sub-Committee in writing and the all-India associations to state their case in person.

In a letter circulated to all its members along with the official circular, GJEPC has said that it is preparing its representation to be submitted to the High Level Committee for the simplification of the Excise procedures and has requested them to send in suggestions to the Council

Latest news

videos on the Indian industry :

India Your First Choice
India – Where Diamonds Come Alive!
Jewellers for Hope

Upcoming Events